A love like no other

Growing belly at 19 weeks

In my last post (forever ago), I touched a little on all of the big changes in my life: new house, new puppy, new last name. And as life-changing as those things were, something even bigger and more impressive has happened since. I’ve got a whole new body. As in, a rapidly expanding body that’s currently busy creating a whole new person. I’m going to be a MOMMY!

I’m in my 19th week, and found out yesterday that we’re expecting a beautiful baby girl. Little Miss Ava Grace should make her debut in March, and I’m out of my mind excited. (And so is her daddy!) We’ve already painted the nursery, picked out furniture, and begun daydreaming about what our little bean will be like.

Making progress on the nursery. (Thanks to my long-time bestie for painting the pretty tree!)

Pregnancy has been… an interesting experience. To say the least. My first trimester was a nightmare. Horrible nausea that lasted all day. Constant exhaustion, coupled with a fun case of insomnia. And extreme moodiness. My poor husband probably thought of running away. (Probably more than once.) One minute, everything was fine. The next, I was crying for no reason. Or yelling. Or slamming doors. Thankfully (for everyone’s sake), my second trimester has been a breeze. I still need naps occasionally, but the nausea is gone and the emotional roller coaster has taken a happy turn. Aside from my protruding midsection, I feel almost normal again. My husband has voiced his appreciation that the craziness has subsided.

I’m going to take a moment now and do something I normally don’t do: I’m going over-the-top sappy for a few sentences, so bear with me. It occurs to me (on a daily basis) how extremely blessed Jeb and I are – to have this incredible opportunity to be parents. Seeing that sweet profile on the ultrasound screen yesterday, the tiny nose and cute little lips,and  knowing that we created her… It’s an incredible feeling. Each little kick and flutter reminds me that our lives are no longer just about us. We are responsible for keeping her healthy and helping her grow. I never knew I could be so in love, and I never want to take that feeling for granted.

P.S. We’ve started a new blog, specifically for the baby, called Notes to the Bean.

Comments
2 Responses to “A love like no other”
  1. Kelly says:

    CONGRATS!! Cannot wait to follow y’all through this journey to parenthood.

  2. Heather says:

    Congrats to you and your hubby! I’m so happy for y’all, and so glad to see you blogging! Her nursery is the cutest. I can’t wait to see pictures!

Leave a Reply

