A new life for a new man

This time last year, my world was upside down. For those of you who don’t remember, or didn’t read my blog back then, we came unfathomably close to losing my dad. He was unresponsive for days, and I’ve never been so scared.

It’s unreal to look back and see how much has changed since then. He was so sick. Failing kidneys, no energy, constant pain. A colorless face, with the exception of the dark circles under his eyes. Now? Well now, he’s the picture of health, rosy cheeks and all. Thanks to the transplant, he now has a fully functional kidney that has allowed him to resume his life, after years on hold.

In fact, just this week he embarked on a new journey – a new chapter to his rapidly improving life. After three years of being unemployed, he’s accepted a job in a field he loves. And to top it off, it’s near the beach. Somewhere he’s always wanted to live.

Last weekend, he and my stepmom moved to Jacksonville,Florida, where they’re now shopping for a beach house. He gets seafood as often as he wants, and can put his toes in the sand on any given day. For a guy who could barely get out of bed seven months ago, this is heaven, and I could not be happier for him.

Over the past few months, I’ve seen my dad become the man I remember. He’s funny, full of life and ready for adventure. It feels so good to have him back.

Happy Father’s Day, Daddy – you’ve been through hell and have a chance to start over. Here’s to a new life, full of health, happiness and palm trees. I love you.

Comments
5 Responses to “A new life for a new man”
  1. Kim says:

    AWESOME!!!! I am thrilled to hear about his new life. Hugs my friend and happy fathers day to your dad!!!

  2. Trudy says:

    Heather!!! I know I have been away so long but I did see the title to your post and had to stop by. I just knew it meant your dad had received the transplant..praise God!!!! I now see that it was likely several months ago but I am just so pleased to hear that he is doing well and has many exciting things to look forward to.

    Now that I have a computer at home again and am somewhat settled down at least, I hope to be around to visit much more often.

    God’s blessings to you!
    Trudy

  3. Jenners says:

    This is such a happy, positive post and I’m thrilled for you and your dad!!! What a difference a year makes … and he sounds like he is making the most of it. Sounds like he is seizing the day and living his dreams. Good for him!!!!! I hope you are finding as much happiness in your life as he is!

  4. Heather's M says:

    Hey, get back to writing already! Something new, (like how wonderful your mom is) or I’m going to quit checking in….. ;)

  5. Heather's M says:

    Time for an update, don’t you think????

Leave a Reply

