Life and flowers and stuff

I know I haven’t been around much lately, and I apologize. I plan on getting caught up on all of my favorite blogs soon. Maybe tonight. In the meantime, how about a quick post to let you know how life is going here?

In a word, life here is fantastic. Not only do I have someone who makes each day a little brighter, but in general, everything else is great, too. Projects at the house are coming along nicely, and each day it looks a little more like a home. The wood flooring in the living room and hallway is done, and the new carpet for the bedrooms will be installed next week. Then we’ll be able to start on the outside – new trim and a pretty new exterior color. My parents have worked so hard to make the house look good, and I am forever indebted to them for all of their help.

I’ve also been able to keep a few flowers alive, which is impressive for me. My hibiscus was blooming a few days ago, and it made me smile. I’m not sure why my daylilies look so sad right now, but my marigolds and begonias are holding up okay. And soon, I may even have little baby sunflowers, which makes my heart happy. I’ve always wanted a yard full of bright, pretty flowers – now, I just have to keep them healthy. Jeb told me to sing to them, but I insisted that would only make them die faster.

And about Jeb… I don’t mean to keep going on about him, but y’all, I’ve never met anyone like him. He’s patient and kind, and he does everything in his power to make me feel special and taken care of. I was sick last week, so he came to the house and made soup and grilled cheese for me. He even brought me an orange because he said I needed the vitamin C. I know it’s a small thing, but aren’t those always the best? He does a million little things like that all the time. Plus all of the bigger things – nice dinners out, weekend dates that last an entire day. And he listens. He remembers everything, even small, passing comments – things I don’t remember saying. I mentioned a few weeks ago that one of my favorite bands was coming to town. By the end of the week, we had tickets to go. OR — there was an instance a couple of weeks ago when I worked a Saturday to cover for a girl who’s out on maternity leave. He knew I’d had a long day and that I was sad about having such a short weekend. When I got home, there was a pretty vase of flowers and a sweet little card waiting for me. Then he took me out to Brio for some yummy Italian, which he knows is my favorite.

 But it’s not about all of the things he does for me. It’s about the way he treats me – the way he loves me. How he acts around my family. He’s respectful to my parents and good with Maggie. He’s truly a blessing.

And now I’ll stop rambling.

Comments
One Response to “Life and flowers and stuff”
  1. Kim says:

    Ramble as much as you’d like. This is your little corner of space! He sounds wonderful. Love is action and it sounds like he knows that. it just helps so much too when he’s good around your family. I’m happy you’re happy!! The house sounds great – pictures!

Leave a Reply

