Drumroll, please…

Okay… I’m finally at liberty to tell you the big news. Are you ready???

After five years in Troy and three years in Andalusia, I’ve decided to move back to the Birmingham area. Back to my hometown, my family and the people I’ve known since 4th grade.

Of course, I say that with mixed emotions.  I’m excited about my new house, happy about being close to my family and looking forward to catching up with old friends. Yet I’m nervous about the career change, sad to leave this beautiful little town and terribly upset about leaving all of the wonderful people I’ve met here.

I never thought I’d be the girl that got homesick, but after being up there for so long in December during Daddy’s transplant, I realized how much I missed my friends and family. After a lot of thought and some long conversations with my parents, I decided to go for it. So next weekend, I’ll pack my belongings and start the next chapter of my life.

But this weekend… well, this weekend will be a roller coaster of emotions. There’s talk of a going-away party, and I already know how hard it’s going to be to say goodbye to my friends here. They’ve seen me through these last three years and been my family away from home. They’ve made me laugh, seen me cry and helped me create memories I’ll always cherish.

And then there’s work. I have been blessed beyond reason with my job. A great company with wonderful, funny, caring coworkers. Competitive pay and excellent benefits. I can’t believe I’m leaving all of this. They took me on straight from college and helped me grow — both professionally and personally. It’s a little scary to think that I’m walking away from a job I love. Okay… it’s a LOT scary. But I do feel like I’m doing it for the right reasons, so that helps ease my fear.

All in all, I think this is a going to be a good change for me. While I’ve loved this little town, I have no ties here. No roots. Most of the people who live here grew up here. My friends have all known each other since diapers. Most are married. Several already have children. A handful more are pregnant. It’s a tough place to be single, and the dating pool is pretty shallow.

And there are other perks to moving, too. I’ll be close to Oak Mountain, where I can hike with Maggie on pretty days. There are countless opportunities to see my favorite bands – from packed out convention centers and music festivals to small acoustic shows downtown. I can have dinner with my family on any given night and spend more time with my little brother. He starts high school next year, so he’ll be leaving for college before I know it.

Anyway, I could ramble on forever about all of the things rattling around in this little brain of mine. But I guess I’ll save some for another day. For now, I need to go. I have a to-do list that’s getting longer by the day.

Comments
6 Responses to “Drumroll, please…”
  1. Dan says:

    Good luck on the move. We moved back here to rural Colorado after 20 years away and haven’t regretted it at all.

  2. Heather says:

    That sounds so exciting! So happy for you and what’s to come for you!

  3. Kim says:

    I’m so happy to hear this. You’re right, it is scary but that’s what change is about. When I finally moved home at 26, that’s when I met Shaune. Someone from my own hometown. Not saying that’s the only reason to go home but I think your family needs you as much as you need them. I always find that people flourish when they come back. I’m so excited to read about this new chapter of your life. You are a good employee, I have no doubt and I know that just the right opportunity will come a calling. Big hugs brave girl!!

  4. Jessica N says:

    Heather, I’m so excited to see this! I know it will be difficult to leave, but I have full faith that you are doing the right thing and will not regret it an ounce! There is no place quite like home, dear. I can’t wait to see where this next journey takes you!

  5. Congratulations on the new house and job. I know the move will be bittersweet, but I’m sure it’ll be nice to be close to family and old friends again. All the best to you during the transition.

  6. Jenners says:

    I thought this might be your news. Life is all about change and I think this is a great move for you. How exciting!

Leave a Reply

