You can call me Ariel

I’m sore. Black and blue splotches cover my legs. I’ve been beaten and abused. But it’s my fault. I did it to myself.

I mean, it’s not like anyone forced me to ride that mechanical bull. I climbed on by myself, with an overly optimistic smile. A smile that turned into fits of laughter when I was immediately slung off onto the air mattress. Of course, I’m no quitter. I rode three more times before the weekend was over. Now I can barely walk. I’ve always heard “cowgirls don’t cry.” Well, what about wincing? Because I’ve sure done a lot of that.

As you can see, life’s been interesting lately. I’ve gotten back into the swing of single life and can honestly say it’s been fun. A good mix of spontaneous plans and quiet nights with Maggie. I kept waiting to hit the emotional phase. I thought I’d eventually be upset about the end of my relationship. But it hasn’t happened yet. It’s a weird feeling — knowing that I’m okay. Better than okay. Life is great, and while I’m excited about the future, I’m also really loving the right now.

We did the Myers-Briggs personality test at work a few weeks ago, and I was once again told that I’m an ENFP (Extraverted iNtuitive Feeling and Perceiving). I always get a kick out of reading that stuff. They label me as an advocate, inspirer, champion. (HA!!) I’m a “charming, ingenuous, risk-taking, sensitive, people-oriented individual who lives in the world of possibilities, and can become very passionate and excited about things.” But one website worded it in such a way that I couldn’t help but snort: “outgoing, social, disorganized, easily talked into doing silly things, spontaneous, wild and crazy, acts without thinking…” Who?? Me? Famous people who share my type are Meg Ryan, Sandra Bullock, Will Smith, Robin Williams and Ariel. As in the Little Mermaid. The curious one who always got herself into trouble by being too trusting and optimistic. That doesn’t sound like anyone I know…

Comments
5 Responses to “You can call me Ariel”
  1. E says:

    I would say that is totally you!. ;-)

  2. Heather says:

    ENFP!?!? Girl … yet another thing we have in common. The description is spot on, too. Definitely sounds like someone I met through the bloggy world. :) #justsayin

  3. sugarsnatch says:

    I just did a double take when I read this! I was like “Wait!! What?! No!!” It couldn’t be true. I had no idea you were single again. Yes, I know we don’t know each other and I’m just a subscriber to your blog…but, I thought your relationship was a cute one that made me smile when you shared the details. I combed your blog to find the notification and was worried that I didn’t get the email. (I did, but I just missed it completely!)

    Anyway, you’re a great gal (from what I know) and I’m happy that you’re doing well.

    Thanks for sharing your life!

    ss

  4. Heather's M says:

    It’s about time you did a new post! I’ve been checking and rechecking daily…Hey, next time you come home, bring your “Little Mermaid” movie, haven’t seen it in a while, would love to sit and watch it with you again (and sing along. ;) ) I wonder just how many times we watch that when you were five???

    M

  5. Kim says:

    I’ve always wondered about those things. I always think I would be too insecure to try it. Glad to hear that it wasn’t all that:)

Leave a Reply

