I guess it’s over

At the risk of sounding cliché… that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

After seven months of something new, I’ve found myself back where I started. Single. And surprisingly, I’m okay with that.

I could try to explain it a million different ways, but the simple truth is it just wasn’t working. Of course, until recently, I was oblivious to that. I thought things were okay. But apparently I was wrong. He wants to do his own thing. Not be committed to anyone. Not have to take someone else’s feelings into consideration. And I can’t fault him for that. Does it suck a little? Well, yeah. But that’s life. You can’t make someone feel something they don’t.

I don’t think it was a waste of time and I’m not mad. We had a lot of fun together and made a lot of memories that still make me smile. We didn’t fight. We don’t dislike each other. We’re just not together anymore. And unless something changes drastically, I doubt we ever will be.

The strange thing is I haven’t shed a single tear. Me. The girl who wears her heart on her sleeve. Maybe that’s a sign. I’ve been through worse and survived just fine. C’est la vie.

Comments
5 Responses to “I guess it’s over”
  1. Heather's M says:

    Heather, I have no doubts that you’ll be just fine. Life has a way of working out the way it’s suppose to, even if it seems to suck sometimes. God and the powers that be are designing a life and love for you that will be exactly what you’ve always wanted. Until you find that, live and be happy but don’t dare settle for anything less.
    I love you dearly.

    M

  2. Heather says:

    Chin up, girl! You have the right attitude and being single comes with a ton of perks, too!! Breakups are always tough, and I’m sure you will ponder of the what-ifs or what-could-have-beens but I also know that someday … when the timing and the person is just right … you will instantly forget all of the heartbreak, all of the time spent with the Mr. Right Nows and all the time wondering when it will be your turn to find The One.

    Because when you do (and someone as awesome as you most certainly will!) meet your match … all of the past “stuff” becomes what made you who you are … and those experiences are priceless. I love your blog and cannot wait to hear about your next adventures!

    {hugs}

  3. Diane says:

    Baby sister, you ARE just fine… you’re BETTER than fine. You – we all – deserve that person who wants to be committed… who wants to take our feelings into consideration. We’ll find them. In time. In the interim? Love your life (I know you do!). Be healthy… be happy… be your wonderful self!! XOXO

  4. Jenners says:

    I am very impressed and proud of you .. but I’m kinda bummed for you too cause it seemed like this relationship was going along so well. But you’re better off if he isn’t ready to commit to anything serious.

  5. Kim says:

    OH my Gosh, how did I miss this????? How are you doing?

    You sound okay. Are you? Hugs!

Leave a Reply

