The 12 Days of Christmas: From a transplant patient

For those of you who don’t know, Daddy will get a new kidney (from my stepmom!) on Dec. 13. After surgery, they’ll stay at a townhouse across from the hospital for eight weeks while he recovers. To show you that he has a sense of humor about everything, I wanted to share his version of the 12 Days of Christmas that he wrote last night (while on pain meds, no doubt!) Anyway, I thought it was cute, so here it is:

On the 12th day of Christmas my true love gave me to me:
12 townhouse nights
11 trips to lab
10 tiny bed pans
9 breathing treatments
8 wheelchair rides
7 smiling nurses
6 cubes of jello
5 MORPHINE PUMPS
4 new IVs
3 surgeons cutting
2 dozen stitches
And her healthy right kidney!!
Comments
2 Responses to “The 12 Days of Christmas: From a transplant patient”
  1. Kim says:

    First of all YaY!!!!!!!! I’m so happy that he’s getting the surgery and what an incredible gift your stepmom is giving him and herself.

    I think this is an adorable list and it’s wonderful that he has such a great sense of humour.

  2. I’m glad he’ll have the surgery, and that’s an awesome thing for your stepmom to do. Love his ’12 Days’ List!

Leave a Reply

