Test results

Well, I got my test results back this morning. Unfortunately, the news wasn’t exactly what we were hoping for.

The ultrasound showed multiple cysts of varying sizes on both kidneys – the largest on my right kidney is 4.4 cm (or nearly 2 inches). On the left, the largest is 3.8 cm. As a result, my kidneys are slightly enlarged.

The next step is a CT scan to get a better look and see exactly where we are right now. Then, I’ll begin seeing a nephrologist to monitor my kidney function. That will really be the only change for now – other than keeping a close eye on my blood pressure and staying as healthy as possible.

So – now we know. I have PKD. And life goes on :)

Comments
9 Responses to “Test results”
  1. Trudy says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Heather, I know that’s not the news you were hoping for…but I do think that awareness is a good thing! I’m really not that familiar at all with PKD and perhaps awareness doesn’t help much anyway? Will be praying for you and also for a great match for you dad!

    Blessings,
    Trudy

  2. Jessica says:

    Heather, I’m so sorry that you got these results! What does this mean? I’m going to have to do some research. Are you glad you got the test done or no?

  3. Heather says:

    You said it best. “Now we know.”

    And there is something powerful about having the knowledge. I’ll be praying and keeping my fingers crossed that your pops finds donor and that all goes well on that front. It sucks that you have this disease, but I have no doubt that you, of all people, will find a way to make light of the situation … and turn this into something good for everyone else. Whether you raise money for a cure or simply educate us on what PKD is and how it affects so many people.

    Chin up, girl!!! {{hugs}}

  4. Heather says:

    I’m sorry to hear that girl! I’ll continue to pray for you and your family!!

  5. Kim says:

    This sounds concerning Heather. Keep us posted. Good for you for doing the difficult thing and getting checked out. Hopefully the early knowledge goes a long way toward prevention. Hugs!!

  6. scarlethue says:

    been thinking about you, just thought I’d let you know

  7. Dan says:

    Sorry to hear the diagnosis. Good luck and keep us posted.

  8. Diane says:

    Hi Sweetness :) I know I said this on FB but I wanted to be sure you know I’m thinking of you. Life does go on and it’s good, even though some of it, quite frankly, sucks. But these times make the blessings seem so much sweeter. Love you, darlin’… if you ever need to chat, you know where to find me :) XOXO

  9. Jenners says:

    Oh … I’m so sorry to hear this. I remember you talking about it, but I was hoping it wouldn’t be something you would have to deal with. I’m hoping that finding out about it this young will help you to manage and prevent problems down the line. Hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

