Seriously…???? HOLY COW!!!!

Omigosh, omigosh, omigosh….OH MY GOSH!!!! Are you freakin’ kidding me?!?!?!

Ahhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, sorry about that. It’s just that I’m a teensy bit excited about some very big news I got last night. I WON A TRIP TO MONTANA!!!!

Let’s rewind a few months. Back in July, I was daydreaming about my trip to Montana last summer and wishing I could go back. As I browsed through photos and trip itineraries on the Montana travel website, I came across a contest called Get Lost in Montana. They wanted people to submit a story about an experience they had in their great big beautiful state. So I did.

A few weeks later I found out I won one of the weekly drawings for a t-shirt and bumper sticker. I thought, “Cool. I never win anything.” And then I moved on with life, figuring I’d never hear from the nice lady at the tourism department again. And I didn’t. Until last night…

Last night the wonderful lady name Susan contacted me to let me know that I was the GRAND PRIZE WINNER of a seven day, six night trip to an area of my choosing: either Glacier National Park, Yellowstone or the High Plains. Well, HELLO… remember my bucket list?! Glacier was right up there at the top of things I want to do before I die. And now my lodging, rental car and four trip experiences (rafting, horseback riding, etc…) has been handed to me and a guest. (Yeah, Derek gets to reap the rewards of my luck, too !)

I have between now and Oct. 31 of next year to redeem my trip and I’m already busy thinking about when I want to go. I’m thinking early summer when all of the wildflowers are blooming and the waterfalls are flowing so strong and pretty. I want to ride horses, hike, fish, kayak… hell, I want to do it all!!

I’m honestly still in shock about all of this. It’s funny because Derek and I had already discussed going to Montana next summer. He went around the same time I did last year and has been wanting to go back nearly as bad as I have. He said we’d try to do it next year. Then, in some serendipitous turn of events, I WON the very trip we were talking about.  All we’ll have to pay for is airfare and meals. Talk about perfect timing.

Somebody pinch me. This can’t be real. I keep waiting for someone to say, “HAHA… just kidding!”

Comments
3 Responses to “Seriously…???? HOLY COW!!!!”
  1. Dan says:

    Congratulations!

  2. Trudy says:

    Wow! That is really exciting Heather…congratulations! I just know that you and Derek will have a wonderful time whenever you decide to go. How very fortunate for you!

    And that is one gorgeous picture! I think I may have to visit Montana someday too!

    Blessings to you!
    Trudy

  3. I’m assuming that you WANT to go to Montana. (I wouldn’t know, I just thought it would be a good question to ask. Some things, like a walking holiday in Iraq, you may not want to win.)

    Have a great time.

Leave a Reply

