Someone’s turning 39(ish)

Me and Mama on vacation.. obviously in the 80s. Check out that hair and those clothes!!

When I get off work this afternoon, I’ll be on my way to Birmingham to visit the family and celebrate Mama’s birthday. She swears she’s turning 39… I may not be great at math, but I think that would mean she had me when she was 13. So, either she got started at a really young age or she’s lying… I’m pretty sure it’s the second one.

In all seriousness, she turned 51 today – although I still don’t think she looks it. The crazy thing (to me) is that she had me when she was my age. That kind of puts things in perspective. As much as I love kids and eventually want a family, I can’t imagine being a mom just yet. I sometimes still struggle with the idea that I’m an adult, ya know? I think I should probably have a firm grip on that concept before I start trying to take care of little ones.

But anyway – back to Mama. She and I have had our fair share of ups and downs. I’ve put her through hell and she’s driven me crazy, but somehow we’ve managed to make it and I think we’re closer now because of it. Now that I’m older (and so much wiser…haha) I can see what a strong, compassionate, funny woman she really is. When I’m frustrated, she lets me vent. When I’m excited, she shares my happiness. She’s always there when I need someone.

Happy birthday Mama. Here’s to another 51.

Comments
8 Responses to “Someone’s turning 39(ish)”
  1. E says:

    You look like Calleigh in that pic, or I guess Calleigh looks like you seeing how she’s only 3 now.

  2. Cheryl N. says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom!

  3. Awww… Happy birthday Heather’s Mama!

  4. Trudy says:

    What a great post and that picture is fabulous, you two look so much alike in it!

    Isn’t it wonderful how we learn to appreciate our parents more as we get older. The things that used to drive us crazy we now admire?

    Happy Birthday to your mom, I hope you all have a wonderful weekend celebrating!

    God Bless!
    Trudy

  5. Heather's M says:

    Awwww, thanks, my Heather Girl!

  6. Dan says:

    Happy BD to your mother.

    I think that kids are one of those things that never feel like you are ready for them until you have them – and then it is very different than you imagined. {*grin*}

  7. Dan Felstead says:

    Heather…I thought I was going to offer up some profound comment like “you look just lie your mom!” but I see everybody beat me to it! Your mom is a cutie…even with the 80’s hair! Of course I should not be so smug…at least she has hair!

    Dan

  8. Kim says:

    I love that pic of you and your mom. I have the same bike seat for my bike. Deaglan loves coming on a bikeride with me. It’s so sweet that you have that picture.

Leave a Reply

