What makes me smile?

I’m a little late on this, but since I’ve been fighting some serious writer’s block, I figured I’d get in on Mama Kat’s weekly writing assignment. And the prompt I chose? Write a list of 10 things that are sure to put a smile on your face when you are not happy.

Soulshine – No matter what kind of mood I’m in, I can turn on this song and let the Allman Brothers remind me that “when your world seems cold, you got to let your spirit take control.”

Clear blue skies and sunshine on a summer day – And having someone to enjoy it with.

Puppy dogs – of all shapes and sizes. I can’t help it. Their cute little fuzzy faces melt my heart.

Zac Brown Band’s Different Kind of Fine – There is something so fun and upbeat about that song! I dare you to listen to it and not smile… seriously. I have it playing on my iPod right now and I can’t help but grin a little as I tap my foot along to the beat.

A Starbucks venti mocha frappuccino with a double shot of espresso and whipped cream –
If you’re gonna do it, do it right.

That “new book” smell – Yes, I know. Go on and say it… NERD.

Sunflowers and daisies – One day, I’m going to have a yard full of them. Once I figure out how to NOT kill everything I attempt to grow.

Lightning storms – I don’t know why, but I’ve always loved watching them. I oooh and aaaaah like a kid watching fireworks.

The Weber Grill commercial where everyone randomly breaks out into dance I usually hate commercials, but this one cracks me up. I don’t know what it is…. Maybe it’s just because everyone looks so happy and carefree. It doesn’t matter how terrible my mood is, I can watch this and suddenly have an ear-to-ear smile.

When someone takes me by complete surprise with some random, really sweet, sincere, unguarded comment that I don’t quite know how to react to – For someone who talks as much as I do, it’s always nice to be rendered speechless.

Comments
4 Responses to “What makes me smile?”
  1. Heather says:

    Love this post!! Is that your puppy in the picture? The starbucks looks Yum!

  2. Trudy says:

    That looks like a great list Heather! I’m going to have to check out your happy songs, I included a couple of my own favorites on my list.

    I know what you mean about the sweet comments too, I feel the same way and often don’t know how to react to them!

    God bless you dear!
    Trudy

  3. Jenners says:

    A puppy’s face can do it for me every time!

  4. Sadie says:

    Oh, I love lightning storms too!! This is a great list!! Thanks for sharing! I’m checking out those writing prompts now…I’ve been stagnant for too long on my blog.

Leave a Reply

