A collection of feel-good stuff

Weekly writing assignment from Mama Kat: “I need all the help I can get and if repeating something healthy and inspiring to myself several times a day helps, then I’m going to do it!” -What affirmation makes you feel better?

I have a Word document saved on my desktop that’s simply called “quotes.” It’s an ever-growing compilation of little tidbits I come across that speak to me in someway or another. They range from funny to wise to completely random, but each one has meaning.

Whenever I feel low and need a boost, I open up the document and scan the sayings until I find one that fits my mood. That becomes my thought for the day. I’ve found that reflecting on something positive for a few minutes can actually lift your spirits. It might sound cheesy, but it generally works for me.

For example, let’s imagine a crazy-hectic day. Things are piling up. You feel stressed. Nothing seems to be going right. Instead of caving under the pressure and having a breakdown, you take a minute to read these words:

And one more for good measure:

Now, instead of immediately jumping back into what I was doing, I take a minute to really think about what those words mean. If I focus my attention on doing that, I find that my mind quits racing for a minute and I’m able to think a little clearer.

I know it sounds silly, but I encourage you to try it. These little quotes are everywhere. When you find one that inspires you, write it down. Start a list and save it on your computer. Keep it close at hand and read over it whenever you need a little somethin’ to get you through the day.

(Images from we ♥ it)

Comments
13 Responses to “A collection of feel-good stuff”
  1. I used to put Post-it quotes on my monitor (and it did help me to remember).

    Now that I have a laptop, I just look for quotes online when I am in the need for inspiration.

    Great advice!

  2. scarlethue says:

    I wish I had known that peace quote last time I saw my little brother. Instead of throwing him out of my house, maybe I would have been more calm about the situation. I’ve worked so hard to achieve a peaceful life, but there’s something about him that throws my inner peace all out of whack– nothing else can get me, but he can. I wish I knew why.

  3. Allison W. says:

    I love quotes and I never thought of it but that is what I do whenever I feel down or depressed. I look up quotes by great people and remember that this too shall pass. I am a new follower. I found you blog from Mama Kat’s.
    ~Allison
    http://luv-books.blogspot.com

  4. Lacey says:

    This is such a good idea. My aunt sends me inspirational quotes everyday, isn’t that sweet of her? I might have to start keeping some of them in a Word document now!

  5. Hey it really does work! I was having a semi bad moment right now and I read your last quote with the roller coaster and it totally just made me laugh!! Thank you for sharing Heather! No wonder why you are such a positive person! Totally glad to know you! :)

  6. Jenners says:

    I don’t think it sounds silly at all … it sounds like a really good idea!

  7. ~ H says:

    LOVE it … and I will give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

  8. I love this idea. I will definately start this. Your quotes are beautiful. I love “Peace” Great post!

  9. Matthew says:

    This is a good idea. Maybe more people would benefit from it-I have a feeling I would :)

  10. Dan says:

    Heather…I signed up with my email…is that how you follow someone on Word Press?

    Dan

    • Hey Dan! I think that will work.. I haven’t figured it out quite yet. I know that I’ve followed WordPress blogs on my blogger account before. At the bottom of your reading pane on your dashboard, there should be an “Add” button. If you click on it, you can copy/paste my new url and it should update it the same as any other blog. :)

  11. Joe Zachs says:

    Like that one about Peace.

Leave a Reply

